Skip to main content
Accessing Databases from Home
Peer Reviewed Explained
Peer review is the process of submitting drafts of articles for critical assessment by experts in the field or discipline before articles are accepted for publication in scholarly journals. This process helps ensure the quality of information published in that field.
Examples of peer-reviewed journals:
Equity & Excellence in Education
Journal of Higher Education
Social Justice Research
Journal of the American Medical Association
Journal of Marriage and Family
Academic Search Complete (EBSCO)
Access to more than 8,800 full-text journals and 7,700 peer-reviewed journal on a variety of subjects including those within STEM research, social sciences and the humanities. This is a comprehensive multi-disciplinary database.
ERIC - Education Resources Information Center (EBSCO)
Contains more than 1,300,000 records and links to more than 323,000 full-text documents dating back to 1966.
Teacher Reference Center
Indexing and abstracts for 280 of the most popular teacher and administrator journals and magazines.
Opposing Viewpoints In Context
Search: "standardized testing"
Provides statistics on a variety of topic including media, business and society, and on a number of industries. Data is sourced from businesses, government departments, market research concerns and associations. Data is available in a variety of formats such as ppt, xls, png, and infographics.
Recommended SFPL Databases
To access SFPL's databases:
(Note: You must have an SFPL library card. To get a card you must go to the Main Library or any branch library with a California ID.)
- Go to sfpl.org.
- Click on e-Library, then Articles & Databases.
- Click on the database you wish to research.
- Enter your barcode from your library card and PIN.
History Resource Center: U.S.
U.S. history resources for undergraduate and high school research. Organized into a variety of categories including Primary Sources, Videos and Images.
Full text academic journals going back to 1838. Fully-searchable collection of online academic journals covering many subjects including many EXCELLENT history journals.
New York Times Historical
Complete full-text run of the New York Times, from Sep 18, 1851 to three years ago. (For current NY Times articles use Newspapers (ProQuest).
San Francisco Chronicle Historical
Offers full page and article images with searchable full text. The collection includes digital reproductions providing access to every page from every available issue from 1865-1922. For current SF Chronicle articles use: Newspapers (NewsBank).
Biography In Context
Full text biographies and articles on contemporary and historical figures worldwide.
Library & Learning Resources, City College of San Francisco
50 Phelan Avenue, San Francisco, CA 94112 (415) 452-5541