Skip to main content
Library Locations | Ask a Librarian | CCSF Home

Immigration: Articles+Books=OneSearch

Resources and research on immigration issues

Library Card?

Your CCSF Student ID Card = Your Library Card

All you need is the barcode on your student ID card to login to OneSearch from off campus and to borrow materials from the library.

 

Remote access to databases and eBooks

When you are not on campus you will need to enter barcode number on your student/staff ID in order to access the databases and eBooks collection.

CCSf Student ID card

Recommended and New Books

Suggestions?

This guide is being built by the Library with the help of the CCSF community.  Please send comments and suggestions about things that you would like to see included.  

OneSearch

 

 


 



 

by Course by Instructor by Title
 
 

 

Finding Books

Choose the Books & Media tab of OneSearch to look for books. 
Books in the library are organized by call number according to the 
Library of Congress classification system which groups items by subject, so you can often simply browse the shelves. Here are some relevant subjects and their call numbers:

Emigration and immigration JV 6001 - JV 9480
United States -- Emigration and immigration JV 6403 - JV 7127 
United States -- Emigration and immigration -- History E184 

Keywords to use when looking for books might include: Immigrants;  Naturalization;  Aliens;  Deportation

And it may be useful to name countries from which immigrants arrive, for example: Dominican Immigrants

Searching for Articles

The CCSF Libraries provides free access to newspaper, magazine and journal article databases.  Use OneSearch or a specific database the most up-to-date information, especially academic (scholarly) sources that are not available for free on the Web. See the Articles & Databases page for a full list of databases available.

Search tips:  Use keywords to seach databases for magazine, newspaper and journal/scholar/peer-reviewed articles.

Keyword examples:

  1. immigra*
  2. "mexican americans"
  3. history

Note: immigra* searches for immigration, immigrant, immigrants at the same time

  1. immigra* or emigra*
  2. "el salvador"
  3. history

Note: emigra* searches for emigrants, emigrant, emigration at the same time

  1. "el salvador"
  2. emigration or immigration
  3. history

Note: use OR between similar or related terms

  1. "mexican americans"
  2. emigration or immigration or immigrants or migrat*

Helpful Databases

OneSearch provides access to many articles, but here are two specific databases that you may find useful:

Chat with a Librarian

Get live help from a librarian 24/7

To start a chat, type your question or message in box below.

Examples of Articles

ACADEMIC ARTICLE retrieved with OneSearch:

Pre-Migration Trauma Exposure and Mental Health Functioning among Central American Migrants Arriving at the US Border.

By: Keller, Allen; Joscelyne, Amy; Granski, Megan; Rosenfeld, Barry. PLoS ONE. 1/10/2017, Vol. 12 Issue 1, p1-11. 11p. DOI: 10.1371/journal.pone.0168692.

Subjects: Mental health; Immigrants -- United States; Central Americans; Emotional trauma; Post-traumatic stress disorder; Offices of Mental Health Practitioners (except Physicians)

 

NEWS ARTICLE retrieved with OneSearch:

Seven Immigrant Entrepreneurs Talk About The Impact Of Trump's Travel Ban.

By: Feldman, Amy. Forbes.com. 2/6/2017, p17-17. 1p. 6 Color Photographs, 1 Black and White Photograph. , Database: Business Source Complete.

Subjects: Businesspeople; Immigrants -- United States; Emigration & immigration law -- United States; Trump, Donald, 1946-; Islam, Shafqat; Medina, Manny; Hariharan, Guru

Journal

Journal of Immigrant and Minority Health

Library & Learning Resources, City College of San Francisco
50 Phelan Avenue, San Francisco, CA 94112 (415) 452-5541