Films on Demand is an online library of streaming videos, covering a wide range of topics. CCSF's subscription includes the general academic and nursing collections. There are approximately 27,000 films.
Kanopy is a collection of over 26,000 documentary, art house and indie films. Highlights from this collection includes films from California Newsreel, Media Education Foundation and Criterion Collection.
You can access Films on Demand and Kanopy from the library website's Articles and Databases page.
Links to individual film titles and segments can be shared with your students via Canvas, email or your personal website. Off-campus users will be prompted to login.
The Rosenberg Library provides access to streaming videos through online subscription database collections. Faculty may submit requests for digital streaming video to be used for online or tech enhanced classes. Please contact Media Librarian, Michele McKenzie to submit your streaming video reserves request.
The Media Center provides access to a range of physical media available for classroom use and viewing within the library.
All currently licensed digital streaming video and physical media is fully searchable in CityCat.
The library can provide basic guidance in the appropriate use of copyrighted streaming video in online courses. When in doubt, please contact a reference or subject liaison librarian for assistance.
Here are a few online resources to get you started:
Stanford University Libraries Copyright & Fair Use Chart and Tools
Baruch College's online Interactive Guide to Using Copyrighted Media in Your Courses