Skip to main content
Chat with a Librarian
Get live help from a librarian 24/7
To start a chat, type your question or message in box below.
The CCSF Libraries provides free access to newspaper, magazine and journal article databases. Use these databases for specialized and the most up-to-date information, especially academic (scholarly) sources that are not available for free on the Web. See the Articles & Databases page for a full list of databases available.
Academic Search Complete
Access to more than 8,800 full-text journals and 7,700 peer-reviewed journal on a variety of subjects including those within STEM research, social sciences and the humanities. This is a comprehensive multi-disciplinary database.
CINAHL Plus with Fulltext
An EBSCO database of the well-respected Comprehensive Index of Nursing and Allied Health Literature. Has many features specific to nursing and allied health, to limit results by age and gender, type of study, and more.
Alt HealthWatch (EBSCO)
Focuses on complementary, holistic and integrated approaches to health care and wellness. Full text articles for more than 180 international, and often peer-reviewed journals and reports. Includes hundreds of pamphlets, booklets, special reports, original research and book excerpts. 1984-
Consumer Health Complete (EBSCO)
A comprehensive resource for consumer-oriented health content. It is designed to support patients' information needs and foster an overall understanding of health-related topics. Consumer Health Complete provides content covering all areas of health and wellness from mainstream medicine to the many perspectives of complementary, holistic and integrated medicine. In addition, Consumer Health Complete includes the Clinical Reference System and the Lexi-PAL Drug Guide, which provides access to up-to-date, concise and clinically relevant drug monographs. The database is updated on a weekly basis.
Health Reference Center Academic (Gale)
Multi-source database provides access to the full text of nursing and allied health journals, plus the wide variety of personal health information sources. 1980-
Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition (EBSCO)
Providing nearly 550 scholarly full text journals focusing on many medical disciplines. Includes the Lexi-PAL Drug Guide, which covers 1,300 generic drug patient education sheets with more than 4,700 brand names.
Providing authoritative medical information on medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, pre-clinical sciences, and more.
Contains citations and abstracts from more than 4,600 biomedical journals published in the United States and 70 other countries. The file contains over 11 million citations dating back to the mid 1960's. Abstracts and ability to filter for free full-text articles. Indexes the Journal of AHIMA.
Remote Access to Databases & E-books
An active RAM ID (student ID number) and RAM ID password is required for off-campus access to CCSF Library subscription resources and databases, including online articles, streaming video, and e-books. When accessing these resources from off-campus, users will be prompted to log in with RAM ID, then will be able to view resources as if they are on-campus.
Library & Learning Resources, City College of San Francisco
50 Phelan Avenue, San Francisco, CA 94112 (415) 452-5541