Skip to main content
Library Locations | Ask a Librarian | CCSF Home

Health 201: Community Health Work, Principles & Practice: Finding Articles

Tips for Article Searching

Tips for article searching:

  1. Break your search concepts up and put them in different boxes (connected by AND).  Ex. diabetes AND Native Americans.
  2. Put quotes around terms that absolutely must stay together.  Works well for titles, names, and concepts. Ex. "community health" "the immortal life of Henrietta Lacks" "national domestic violence hotlne"
  3. Create and EBSCOhost account or Gale account to save articles online (EBSCO account box below).
  4. Use ciation generators to help with your references list.

Article Databases

The CCSF Libraries provides free access to newspaper, magazine and journal article databases.  Use these databases for specialized and the most up-to-date information, especially academic (scholarly) sources that are not available for free on the Web. See the Articles & Databases page for a full list of databases available, and to access the recommended list below. 

How to Set Up an EBSCOhost Account

Remote Access to Databases & E-books

An active RAM ID (student ID number) and RAM ID password is required for off-campus access to CCSF Library subscription resources and databases, including online articles, streaming video, and e-books. When accessing these resources from off-campus, users will be prompted to log in with RAM ID, then will be able to view resources as if they are on-campus.

Library & Learning Resources, City College of San Francisco
50 Phelan Avenue, San Francisco, CA 94112 (415) 452-5541