Skip to main content
- Identify key concepts. Include only useful or relevant keywords in your search.
- Try synonyms and search Subject Terms, Subject Headings or Descriptors to maximize your search
- Truncation tip: child* will return results for child, childhood and children.
- Use Advanced Search to limit to document type, time period, material type, etc.
- Refine results to just Scholarly (Peer Reviewed) journals
Refine your search by using Boolean Logic (AND, OR, NOT):
AND narrows a search, though the AND is usually implied (i.e. tourette syndrome AND adolescent). This searches only for items containing both search terms.
OR expands or broadens a search (i.e. GMO OR genetically modified OR transgenic). This searches for either term thus widening the possibilities. This is good for searching using synonyms.
NOT excludes specific terms (i.e. healthy weight gain NOT pregnancy). This would be useful if you wanted to find info about healthy weight gain not related to pregnancy.
CCSF Library provides free access to newspaper, magazine and journal article databases. Use OneSearch to search the library's databases for specialized and the most up-to-date information, especially academic (scholarly) sources that are not available for free online. See the Articles & Databases page for a full list of databases available.
Provides access to more than 100 scholarly journals in the behavioral and social sciences. Full text. Peer reviewed. Updated weekly.
Psychology and Behavioral Sciences Collection
Providing information concerning topics in emotional and behavioral characteristics, psychiatry & psychology, mental processes, anthropology, and observational & experimental methods; offering full text coverage for nearly 560 journals.
This set explores what makes people "tick" from childhood to death. This collection gives individuals a basic understanding of the study of the mind, emotions and how the human mind develops -- and diminishes -- over time. This database provides access to 200 subject-appropriate full-text periodicals.
Provides statistics on a variety of topic including media, business and society, and on a number of industries. Data is sourced from businesses, government departments, market research concerns and associations. Data is available in a variety of formats such as ppt, xls, png, and infographics.
Academic Search Complete (EBSCO)
Access to more than 8,800 full-text journals and 7,700 peer-reviewed journal on a variety of subjects including those within STEM research, social sciences and the humanities. This is a comprehensive multi-disciplinary database.
Contains citations and abstracts from more than 4,600 biomedical journals published in the United States and 70 other countries. The file contains over 11 million citations dating back to the mid 1960's. Abstracts and ability to filter for free full-text articles.
Library & Learning Resources, City College of San Francisco
50 Phelan Avenue, San Francisco, CA 94112 (415) 452-5541