Skip to main content
Library Locations | Ask a Librarian | CCSF Home

Design 101: Articles

Use this guide to research projects for the City College of San Francisco class Design 101

Chat with a Librarian

Get live help from a librarian 24/7

To start a chat, type your question or message in box below. 

Art Magazines in Print

Aperture magazine coverArt in America magazine coverAmerican Craft magazine cover

At the Public Library

San Francisco Public Library offers access to JSTOR and Art Full Text, databases with full text, scholarly articles. You will need a San Francisco Public Library card and your pin number for the card to access JSTOR, Art Full Text, Oxford Art Online and Biography Index. Go to JStor  Art Full Text, Oxford Art Online, and Biography in Context and then enter your barcode number and pin.

For this assignment search Art Full Text combining keywords such as art and emotion or color and emotion, sometimes you need to search the plural form of the word separately, for example: art and emotions.


Use OneSearch to search for books, eBooks, magazine, newspaper and journal articles, streaming videos, DVDs, CDs, images, and more, all in a single search.





by Course by Instructor by Title


Finding Articles

The CCSF Libraries provides free access to newspaper, magazine and journal article databases.  Use these databases for specialized and the most up-to-date information, especially academic (scholarly) sources that are not available for free on the Web. See the Articles & Databases page for a full list of databases available.

Or get started by searching the Articles tab in the OneSearch box above. Search multiple databases at once!

Recommended Databases

Library & Learning Resources, City College of San Francisco
50 Phelan Avenue, San Francisco, CA 94112 (415) 452-5541