Skip to main content
Chat with a Librarian
Get live help from a librarian 24/7
To start a chat, type your question or message in box below.
Finding Web Information
Searching for information on the web efficiently requires developing a search strategy. Is the information sought very specific? If so, a search engine is the best search tool to use with keywords to describe the exact information need. Unsure or looking for more general information on a topic? Start with a subject directory and search broad topics. Many specialized databases and search tools are also available on the web.
Calisphere is the University of California's free public gateway to a world of primary sources. More than 200,000 digitized items — including photographs, documents, newspaper pages, political cartoons, works of art, diaries, transcribed oral histories, advertising, and other unique cultural artifacts — reveal the diverse history and culture of California and its role in national and world history.
Migration Policy Center
"MPI provides analysis, development, and evaluation of migration and refugee policies at local, national, and international levels. It aims to meet the demand for pragmatic and thoughtful responses to the challenges and opportunities that large-scale migration, whether voluntary or forced, presents to communities and institutions in an increasingly integrated world."
The United States and its Territories
This full-text digital collection drawn from the University of Michigan Library's Southeast Asia collection, comprises the full text of monographs and government documents published in the United States, Spain, and the Philippines between 1870 and 1925. "
Recommended Web Resources
CIA World Factbook
"The World Factbook provides information on the history, people, government, economy, geography, communications, transportation, military, and transnational issues for 267 world entities." This website provides "maps of the major world regions, as well as Flags of the World, a Physical Map of the World, a Political Map of the World, a World Oceans map, and a Standard Time Zones of the World map."
Digital Asia Library
"The Portal to Asian Internet Resources, based at the University of Wisconsin-Madison, is a cooperative project of The Ohio State University Libraries, the University of Minnesota Libraries, and the University of Wisconsin-Madison Libraries. The project provides a user-friendly, searchable catalog through which scholars, students and the general public have quick and easy access to high quality Web resources originating in Asia identified, evaluated, selected and cataloged by area library specialists."
National Commission for Culture and the Art
A Philippine website "Gears Up for Grand Gathering of Indigenous Peoples All Over the Country."
Pew Research Center
A nonpartisan fact tank that informs the public about the issues, attitudes and trends shaping America and the world.
Philippine Statistics Authority
This is the interactive databases of Philippine national statistics, including GDP growth, inflation rate, poverty incidence, children, gender and development.
Philippines: Country Studies
This website is from Country Studies Series of the Library of Congress. It presents a description and analysis of the historical setting and the social, economic, political, and national security systems and institutions of Philippines.
SEAsite-A project of Northern Illinois University, DeKalb
The Spanish-American War in Motion Pictures
This is an online digital video collection of the Library of Congress. "This presentation features 68 motion pictures, produced between 1898 and 1901, of the Spanish-American War and the subsequent Philippine Revolution."
The Statistical abstract of the United States is source for beginning a search of US population . Published by the U.S. Census Bureau, it is an annual compilation of data on a wide variety of topics. Most data has been collected by U.S. government agencies but it also includes authoritative data from other sources as well as core data on other countries and international comparison tables.
Library & Learning Resources, City College of San Francisco
50 Phelan Avenue, San Francisco, CA 94112 (415) 452-5541