Skip to main content
Library Locations | Ask a Librarian | CCSF Home

Articles

test test

Chat with a Librarian

Get live help from a librarian 24/7

To start a chat, type your question or message in box below.

Remote Access to Databases & E-books

An active RAM ID (student ID number) and RAM ID password is required for off-campus access to CCSF Library subscription resources and databases, including online articles, streaming video, and e-books. When accessing these resources from off-campus, users will be prompted to log in with RAM ID, then will be able to view resources as if they are on-campus.

Finding Articles

The CCSF Libraries provides free access to newspaper, magazine and journal article databases.  Use these databases for specialized and the most up-to-date information, especially academic (scholarly) sources that are not available for free on the Web. See the Articles & Databases page for a full list of databases available.

Recommended Databases

Academic OneFile (Gale)
Full-text articles from leading journals and reference sources. Coverage includes the physical sciences, technology, medicine, social sciences, the arts, theology, literature and other subjects. Updated daily. 1980 -

Academic Search Premier (EBSCO)  
Full-text articles from leading journals. Coverage is multi-disciplinary and includes full text for more than 3,700 peer-reviewed titles; searchable cited references are provided for more than 1,000 titles. Updated daily. 1975 -

America: History & Life with Full Text (EBSCO)
America: History & Life with Full Text covers the history and culture of the United States and Canada, from prehistory to the present. America: History & Life with Full Text also provides full-text coverage of more than 200 journals and nearly 100 books.

Diversity Studies (Gale)
This collection explores cultural differences, contributions and influences in our global community.

Ethnic Newswatch (ProQuest)
News, culture and history from the newspapers, magazines and journals of the ethnic, minority and native press. 1991-present: English and Spanish language.

General Onefile (Gale)
A source for news and periodical articles on a wide range of topics: business, computers, current events, economics, education, environmental issues, health care, hobbies, humanities, law, literature and art, politics, science, social science, sports, technology, and many general interest topics. Millions of full-text articles, many with images. Updated daily. 1980-

MasterFILE Premier (EBSCO)
Multidisciplinary database providing full text for nearly 1,700 general reference publications, 164,400 primary source documents, as well as an Image Collection of over 460,000 photos, maps & flags. 1975-

Opposing Viewpoints In Context (Gale)
Features viewpoint articles, topic overviews, full-text magazine, academic journal, and newspaper articles, primary source documents, statistics, images and podcasts, and links to Websites.

The World Factbook
Country reports provided by the U.S. Central Intelligence Agency. Updated every two weeks.



 

Recommended Databases @ SFPL

Library & Learning Resources, City College of San Francisco
50 Phelan Avenue, San Francisco, CA 94112 (415) 452-5541