Skip to main content
Library Locations | Ask a Librarian | CCSF Home

Radiologic Science & DMI: On the Web

Research guide for the Radiologic Sciences and Diagnostic Medical Imaging programs

From Radiopaedia

Quick Links

Finding Web Information

Searching for information on the web efficiently requires developing a search strategy. Do you need very specific information? If so, a search engine is the best search tool to use, with keywords that are specific to your information need. Unsure or looking for more general information on a topic?  Start with a subject directory and search broad topics. Many specialized databases and search tools are also available on the Web. Some selected websites for radiologic science are below.

Click the Research Skills tab above for great resources to help you evaluate health information on the Web.

Images on the Web

MedPix - Medical Image Database

The site provides the general public with information about radiology and particularly on the following radiologic techniques: breast imaging, CT, interventional radiology, magnetic resonance imaging (MRI), nuclear medicine, ultrasound, X-rays, etc.

Radiographic Anatomy - University Of Kansas Medical Center database of images, normal anatomical films, and case studies.'s "mission is to create the best possible radiology reference and teaching site and make it available to everyone, for ever, for free." It includes an encyclopaedia, organized by section and system of the body, and cases are reviewed by editors before posting.

RadiologyInfo -
The project created a “complete, anatomically detailed, three-dimensional representations of the normal male and female human bodies through acquisition of transverse CT, MR and cryosection images of representative male and female cadavers.”

Whole Brain Atlas -
Harvard Medical School resource for neuroimaging.

Radiology Concepts

Physics and Technology of Medical Imaging - Author's companion website to textbook of the same name. Website includes visuals, outlines and information on topics such as radiation for imaging and major methods of imaging.

Simply Physics - Web-based primer on physics of Magnetic Resonance Imaging.

Radiographic Technology Index - Online glossary of radiographic terms and concepts. Images are also available from the site's homepage. Website is UK-based.

Radiology Research on the Web

Evidence-Based Practice Tutorial Joint venture of the Duke University and Chapel Hill Health Sciences libraries introduces the concepts of evidence-based practice and includes interactive quizzes to test your understanding. Website created by the director of the Radiology Residency Program of a Philadelphia medical center. Site includes images, cases, and course materials and lectures by faculty at the medical center.

TRIP Database (Turning Research Into Practice) is a free-to-register database of evidence-based materials in the health sciences. After an initial search, a navigation bar on the left allows you to narrow and browse results by type of resource (eg, images, video), clinical specialty, and other choices.

Professional Websites

American Association of Radiologic Technologists

Site inclides information about the association, upcoming conferences, careers, and publication.

American Registry of Radiologic Technologists -
Site providing information on state licensing, ARRT registration requirements, education, examination, ethics, publication, and more.

Updates from RT


Library & Learning Resources, City College of San Francisco
50 Phelan Avenue, San Francisco, CA 94112 (415) 452-5541