Skip to main content
Chat with a Librarian
Get live help from a librarian 24/7
To start a chat, type your question or message in box below.
Periodical databases group together journal, magazine, and newspaper articles by subject. They also usually provide abstracts (brief summaries) and the full text of the articles. Do you need help identifying the differences between scholarly journal v. popular magazine articles?
Note: Most periodical databases are part of the private, passworded Web, so you will need to log in using your RAM ID credentials.
Cross-searches all EBSCO databases (multidisciplinary) and includes a mix of news, magazine, trade journal and academic journal content. Also includes ebooks.
Gale is a brand name for several databases with coverage from 1980 to the present. Most useful for art topics are General OneFile and Expanded Academic ASAP.
A digital library of nearly one million images in the areas of art, architecture, the humanities, and social sciences with a set of tools to view, present, and manage images for research and pedagogical purposes.
San Francisco Public Library (SFPL) – Electronic Resources, Magazines, and Newspapers (http://sfpl.org/)
The SFPL subscribes to many periodical and reference databases. Try: Art Full Text, or the Art Museum Image Gallery. You must have a San Francisco Public Library card number to access them
Remote Access to Databases & E-books
An active RAM ID (student ID number) and RAM ID password is required for off-campus access to CCSF Library subscription resources and databases, including online articles, streaming video, and e-books. When accessing these resources from off-campus, users will be prompted to log in with RAM ID, then will be able to view resources as if they are on-campus.
Library & Learning Resources, City College of San Francisco
50 Phelan Avenue, San Francisco, CA 94112 (415) 452-5541