Skip to main content
Library Locations | Ask a Librarian | CCSF Home

Diego Rivera in General

Chat with a Librarian

Get live help from a librarian 24/7

To start a chat, type your question or message in box below.

Books

This is the best book about Rivera’s life and work in general, and it is well illustrated:

Rivera, Diego & Detroit Institute of Arts. Diego Rivera: a retrospective. Detroit, 1986.
ND259 .R5 A42 1986  Three circulating; 4 (2 Hour) Reserve; 1 Rivera Collection

There are a few other titles which are good, general sources on Rivera:

Rivera, Diego, and Luis-Martin Lozano. Diego Rivera: art & revolution. Mexico, 1999.
N6559 .R5 A4 1999  One (2 Hour) Reserve; 1 Rivera Collection

Wolfe, Bertram. The fabulous life of Diego Rivera.        ND259 .R5 W56                            Two Rosen. circulating; 2 Mission Circ.; 2 (2 Hour) Reserve; 2 Rivera Collection             Spanish language: 1 Rosenberg circulating; 1 Mission circ.; 1 Rivera Collection

Easy Readers about Diego Rivera:

Cockcroft, James D. Diego Rivera. ND259 .R5 C57 1991
1 John Adams circulating; 1 Rivera Collection

Gleiter, Jan. Diego Rivera. ND259 .R5 G54 1989 In Spanish & English.
1 John Adams circulating; 1 Rivera Collection

Gonzales, Doreen. Diego Rivera: his art, his life. ND259 .R5 G67 1996
1 circulating; 1 Rivera Collection
                                                           
Holland, Gini. Diego Rivera.      ND 259 .R5 H65 1997    One Rivera Collection

Shirley, David. Diego Rivera. N6559 .R58 S55 1995        One circulating; 1 Rivera

Vazquez, Sarah. Diego Rivera: an artist’s life.   ND259 .R5 V39 1998    
1 circulating; 1 Rivera Collection

Venezia, Mike. Diego Rivera.     N6559 .R58 V45 1994    One circulating; 1 Rivera

Winter, Jonah. Diego.    ND259 .R5 W48 1994     In Spanish & English. Two circulating;  1 Mission circulating; Rivera Collection

Click here if you would like to view an annotated bibliography arranged by each panel of the mural or by research theme such as Golden Gate International Exposition or Pan American Unity. The bibliography is a work in progress created by Instructor Jeffrey Goldthorpe for his English 93 course.

Videos

Many of the videos in our collection include interesting, original documentary film footage of Diego Rivera and Frida Kahlo. Find these by using the Advanced Keyword Search and limit your search to Material Type VHS (Diego Rivera) or DVD (Frida Kahlo).

Rivera in America includes the Pan American Unity mural and an interview with artist and Rivera historian Emmy Lou Packard.    Media Center VHS 1686 or AV V 1946

The library has recently purchased a subscription to Films on Demand which includes a number of films relating to Diego Rivera.

Library & Learning Resources, City College of San Francisco
50 Phelan Avenue, San Francisco, CA 94112 (415) 452-5541