Skip to main content
Library Locations | Ask a Librarian | CCSF Home

Pan American Unity Mural

Chat with a Librarian

Get live help from a librarian 24/7

To start a chat, type your question or message in box below.

Information about Pan American Unity Mural

To locate books and other materials in CCSF Libraries, select Find Books from the Library's Homepage. You will notice many ways to search, such as Title, Author, Subject, Video, Instructor, etc. There are also many books in the collection that have important sections or chapters on Diego Rivera so be sure to try the Keywords in Contents and Notes search as well.

There are articles in the City College of San Francisco newspaper, The Guardsman, about the mural and about two of the people in the mural, Helen Crlenkovich and Dudley Carter.

There are very few titles that include specific information about Pan American Unity. There are copies of these titles in many locations including Reserve, Circulation, Reference and the Archives. Two titles were written by students as Masters Degree theses. We have learned a lot about the mural since they were written, but they are good sources to use for general ideas about the mural. (NOTE: All books listed as Circulating are located at Rosenberg Library unless otherwise indicated. Reserve books are located at the Circulation desk at the Rosenberg Library)

Books and other materials about the Pan American Unity Mural

Barden, Merrill. Understanding the evolution of Diego Rivera’s message to the United States: an explication of the Pan American Unity mural. ND259 .R5 B37 1992.    Eight circulating; 4 (72 hour) Reserve; 2 Reference; 3 (2 hour) Reserve; 1 Ref East; 1 Rivera

Fuentes-Rojas, Elizabeth. Three San Francisco murals of Diego Rivera: a documentary and artistic history. ND259 .R5 F845 1980. Six circulating; 5 (72 Hour) Reserve; 3 (2 Hour) Reserve; 2 Rivera Collection; 1 Reference East

A former English and Humanities instructor at City College also wrote about Diego Rivera and our mural.

Zakheim, Masha. Pan American Unity: a fresco by the Mexican Diego Rivera painted for City College of San Francisco at the Golden Gate International Exposition, Treasure Island, 1939-1940. ND259 .R5 Z355 1991. Ten (48 Hour) Reserve; 2 (72 Hour) Reserve; 1 circulating; 1 Reference East; 1 Rivera Collection

Zakheim, Masha. Diego Rivera in San Francisco. ND259 .R5 Z354 2001. Three circ.; 3 (2 Hour) Reserve; 1 Rivera Collection

Whenever possible, we want to find Rivera’s own voice; what did he say about the themes and images in his mural? This next title is the text of an interview with Rivera.

Rivera, Diego. Diego Rivera: the story of his mural at the 1940 Golden Gate International Exposition. ND259 .R5 P3 1940. Three (2 Hour) Reserve; 3 Rivera

This is his autobiography, in which 4 chapters are about his time in San Francisco in 1940.

Rivera, Diego. My art, my life: an autobiography . Chapters: A visit with Charlie Chaplin; A salute by the U.S. Navy; A second time with Frida; More popular than Wendell Willkie.
ND259 .R5 A2 1991 Three (48 Hour) Reserve; 1 Rose. circ.; 1 Mission Circ.; 2 Rivera;    1 (2 Hour) Reserve

At the East Reference Desk there are two large binders of material about the mural and the people and images represented in it.

Use the CityCat search Reserves by Course , ESL 79, or Reserves by Instructor , Martin Tina to find folders on Reserve for all the people and images in the mural.

Here is a book that discusses Rivera’s three San Francisco murals, his influence on local artists, and the politics of the 1930’s.

Lee, Anthony W. Painting on the left: Diego Rivera, radical politics, and San Francisco’s public murals. ND259 .R5 L44 1999. Two Mission circ.; 1 Rosen. circ.;     1 (7 Day) Reserve; 1 John Adams circ.; 1 Rivera collection  EBOOK AVAILABLE!

Click here if you would like to view an annotated bibliography arranged by each panel of the mural or by research theme such as Golden Gate International Exposition or Pan American Unity. The bibliography is a work in progress created by Instructor Jeffrey Goldthorpe for his English 93 course.

Library & Learning Resources, City College of San Francisco
50 Phelan Avenue, San Francisco, CA 94112 (415) 452-5541