Skip to main content
Recommended Databases @ CCSF
You'll need to enter your library barcode (aka student ID) if you are off campus.
A large collection of articles from newspapers, journals, magazines and even entire ebooks. EBSCOhost is a great place to start your search.
Search more than 19 multi-disciplinary databases all at once. Contains useful subject search feature, good for topic identification.
Health Reference Center Academic (Gale)
Includes a wide range of health-related publications. Useful Subject Search feature can help with topic selection.
PubMed is a vast database of biomedical research articles, including exercise and sports sciences.
How to Set Up an EBSCOhost Account
Recommended Databases @ SFPL
Dance in Video
Streaming video database covering many types of dance.
Full text national and international newspapers.
Looking for local sports/dance coverage? This database includes over 300 different titles, including the Sacramento Bee, the San Jose Mercury News, and the Oakland Tribune.
Tips for Article Searching
Tips for article searching:
- Break your search concepts up and put them in different boxes (connected by AND). Ex. diabetes AND Native Americans.
- Put quotes around terms that absolutely must stay together. Works well for titles, names, and concepts. Ex. "community health" "the immortal life of Henrietta Lacks" "national domestic violence hotlne"
- Create an EBSCOhost account or Gale account to save articles online (EBSCO account box below).
- Use ciation generators to help with your references list.
Library & Learning Resources, City College of San Francisco
50 Phelan Avenue, San Francisco, CA 94112 (415) 452-5541