Skip to main content
You will use the library skills learned from the first assignment to research an historic or present day person who has had a profound impact on the culinary and/or hospitality industry. Find a book and/or search the Internet about your person.
LIST OF HOSPITALITY INDUSTRY LEADERS
Questions to Pose:
- What events, family history or training shaped him/her?
- How did this person become a leader in his/her field?
- What makes this person a leader? Is it her/his actions, books, financial success, family/friends/industry support or something else?
- Finally, why did you select this person?
You are also required to add a bibliography and cite all your sources APA style. You must also present your leader to the class (see class schedule for presentation dates).
Search CityCat to find books, e-books, DVDs, CDs and more. There are many ways to search, such as by Title, Author and Keyword.
Find CCSF Library books, textbooks and other materials:
- LAST NAME, FIRST NAME – BIOGRAPHY (e.g. Child, Julia –Biography)
- Celebrity Chefs
- Cooks - Biography
- Cooks - California - Biography
- Cooks--United States—Biography
- Food writers -- United States – Biography
- Cooks -- United States -- Biography
- Women Cooks -- Biography
- Women Food Writers—Biography
- Hotel clerks -- United States – Biography
- Hotels -- Employees – Biography
- Hotelkeepers – Biography
- Hotelkeepers -- United States – Biography
- Food writers -- Biography – Encyclopedias
- Gourmets -- Biography
- Nutritionists – Biography
- Restaurateurs – Biography
- Home economists – Biography
- Farmers – Biography
America: History & Life with Full Text (EBSCO)
America: History & Life with Full Text covers the history and culture of the United States and Canada, from prehistory to the present. America: History & Life with Full Text also provides full-text coverage of more than 200 journals and nearly 100 books.
Biography Reference Center (EBSCO)
Provides access to more than 430,000 full-text biographies on notable personalities.
Cross-searches all EBSCO databases (multidisciplinary) and includes a mix of news, magazine, trade journal and academic journal content. Also includes ebooks.
Search more than 19 multi-disciplinary databases all at once. Conduct a SUBJECT GUIDE search using your industry leader's name (i.e. Child, Julia).
Library & Learning Resources, City College of San Francisco
50 Phelan Avenue, San Francisco, CA 94112 (415) 452-5541