Skip to main content
Recommended Web Sources
The Center for Media & Social Impac (CMSI)
"The Center for Media & Social Impact at American University is a research center that creates, studies, and showcases media for social impact." From the Website
CineFiles is a database of reviews, press kits, festival and showcase program notes, newspaper articles, and other documents from the University of California, Berkeley, Pacific Film Archives (PFA) Library's collection.
"Creative Commons is a nonprofit organization that enables the sharing and use of creativity and knowledge through free legal tools." From the Website
A practical site for filmmakers, film students and film-buffs. This site also has good tips for film students to get started in the industry. In addition, it offers film discussion and film criticism.
Film Noir Foundation
An educational resource regarding the cultural, historical, and artistic significance of film noir as an original American cinematic movement.
Designed for classic film buffs, students, moviegoers and anyone else interested in the great movies of the last century.
Harvard Film Archive
The Harvard Film Archive is one of the largest and most significant university-based motion picture collections in the United States, with a collection of well over 25,000 audio visual items from around the world and from almost every period in film history.
"Internet Archive is a non-profit library of millions of free books, movies, software, music, and more. " From the Website
Internet Movie Database
Collection of movie information close to 150,000 film titles, including cast lists, plot summaries, awards, trivia, etc.
The Library of Congress American Memory
"American Memory provides free and open access through the Internet to written and spoken words, sound recordings, still and moving images, prints, maps, and sheet music that document the American experience." From the Website
Metacritic compiles reviews from respected critics and publications for movies, DVDs, music, and television.
Museum of the Moving Image
Understanding and appreciation of the art, history, technique, and technology of film and digital media.
PFA Film Collection
The PFA collection serves as an educational resource for the UC Berkeley community as well as for scholars, teachers, film critics, filmmakers, and programmers from around the world.
A site where educational institutions can access, license, stream and share documentary films among their students, and faculty.
Finding Web Information
Searching for information on the web efficiently requires developing a search strategy. Is the information sought very specific? If so, a search engine is the best search tool to use with keywords to describe the exact information need. Unsure or looking for more general information on a topic? Start with a subject directory and search broad topics. Many specialized databases and search tools are also available on the web.
Library & Learning Resources, City College of San Francisco
50 Phelan Avenue, San Francisco, CA 94112 (415) 452-5541