Skip to main content
Chat with a Librarian
Get live help from a librarian 24/7
To start a chat, type your question or message in box below.
Recommended Web Resources
Complete Works of William Shakespeare
Provides the complete text of Shakespeare's plays.
Folger Shakespeare Library
"Home to the world's largest and finest collection of Shakespeare materials and to major collections of other rare Renaissance books, manuscripts, and works of art, the Folger serves a wide audience of researchers, visitors, teachers, students, families, and theater- and concert-goers."--from the Folger web site
Internet Public Library: Stagecraft / Technical Theatre
The Internet Public Library has indexed various web resources on the topic of stagecraft and technical theater.
Theater History on the Web
Maintained by professor Jack Wolcott, University of Washington (retired) who "served as the Associate Director and Graduate Program Coordinator of the University of Washington School of Drama for many years, and taught dramatic literature, theatre history and computing"
According to the web site: "This site has been maintained since 1996 to provide easy access to useful research sites throughout the world. Theatre practitioners as well as scholars will find these listings to be of value."
The Fine Arts Museums of San Francisco
Click on "Explore the Art." You'll be able to search the Museum's collection by object type, century, country and location in the Museum.
The J. Paul Getty Museum, Los Angeles, California
Click on "Collection" to explore the Museum's database of images. Browse or search for work in their collection.
The Louvre, Paris, France
To see images of work in the Museum's collection, click on "Collection & Louvre Palace."
The Metropolitan Museum of Art, New York City
Click on "Collection" to see thousands of works in the Museum's collection.
The State Museum of the Hermitage, St. Petersburg, Russia
Click on "Explore - Virtual Collections" to see images from the Museum's collection.
Finding Web Information
Searching for information on the web efficiently requires developing a search strategy. Is the information sought very specific? If so, a search engine is the best search tool to use with keywords to describe the exact information need. Unsure or looking for more general information on a topic? Start with a subject directory and search broad topics. Many specialized databases and search tools are also available on the web.
Library & Learning Resources, City College of San Francisco
50 Phelan Avenue, San Francisco, CA 94112 (415) 452-5541