Skip to main content
Use OneSearch to search for books, eBooks, magazine, newspaper and journal articles, streaming videos, DVDs, CDs, images, and more, all in a single search.
Recommended Databases for History @ CCSF
A large collection of articles from newspapers, journals, magazines and even entire ebooks. EBSCOhost is a great place to start your search.
Opposing Viewpoints In Context
Use this database for getting started on topics that are current or controversial. It will give you some ideas for research questions and provide an overview.
America: History & Life with Full Text (EBSCO)
America: History & Life with Full Text covers the history and culture of the United States and Canada, form prehistory to the present. Also provides full-text coverage of more than 200 journals and nearly 100 books.
*CLIO Notes provide chronologies and brief summaries of significant events and themes in history.
JSTOR is a digital library of academic journals, books, and primary sources in a variety of subject areas including economics, history, sociology, and political science.
US History Collection
Collection of journals covering both “current thought on events in U.S. history as well as scholarly work established in the field." Content is updated daily.
How to Set Up an EBSCOhost Account
Recommended Databases @ SFPL
History Resource Center
U.S. history resources for undergraduate and high school research.
New York Times Historical
Complete full-text run of the New York Times, from Sep 18, 1851 to three years ago. (For current NY Times articles use Gale Academic OneFile
Contains the online versions of "Great Lives from History: Notorious Lives" and "Milestone Documents in American History among other great sources.
Tips for Article Searching
Tips for article searching:
- Break your search concepts up and put them in different boxes (connected by AND). Ex. diabetes AND Native Americans.
- Put quotes around terms that absolutely must stay together. Works well for titles, names, and concepts. Example: "community health" "the immortal life of Henrietta Lacks"
- Create an EBSCOhost account or Gale account to save articles online (EBSCO account box below).
- Use citation generators and NoodleTools to help with your references list.
Remote Access to Databases & E-books
An active RAM ID (student ID number) and RAM ID password is required for off-campus access to CCSF Library subscription resources and databases, including online articles, streaming video, and e-books. When accessing these resources from off-campus, users will be prompted to log in with RAM ID, then will be able to view resources as if they are on-campus.
Library & Learning Resources, City College of San Francisco
50 Phelan Avenue, San Francisco, CA 94112 (415) 452-5541