Skip to main content
Library Locations | Ask a Librarian | CCSF Home

Ebooks

eBook Support Resources

Remote Access to Databases & E-books

An active RAM ID (student ID number) and RAM ID password is required for off-campus access to CCSF Library subscription resources and databases, including online articles, streaming video, and e-books. When accessing these resources from off-campus, users will be prompted to log in with RAM ID, then will be able to view resources as if they are on-campus.

Basics of EBSCO eBooks

CCSF library subscribes to the EBSCO eBook Academic Collection, which includes over 100,000 eBooks accessible through the EBSCOHost search interface. Many titles are accessible through OneSearch as well.

The EBSCO eBook Collection includes titles only in PDF or EPUB format (mostly PDF), no audio books at this time. EBSCO's online reading interface has several useful features, some of which are listed below. 

Many books are downloadable for reading offline, for up to a two-day checkout period. To download ebooks, you will need a free My EBSCHost folder account and Adobe Digital Editions, available for free download. Check outs are limited to one book at a time.

Search for ebooks by keyword, author, subject and more, or browse using EBSCO's categories.

Quickly check for the information you want by using the interactive tables of contents included with each title or by clicking a link to preview occurences of your search terms in the text. 

Features of the online reading interface include:

  • Searchable text.
  • Ability to add notes at specific pages (must create a free My EBSCOHost folder account).
  • Options to email, print or download limited numbers of pages per session (up to 60, depending on title). Downloaded segments of books are not restricted by loan period.
  • A dictionary to help readers define unfamiliar terms in the text.

OneSearch

Use OneSearch to search for books, eBooks, magazine, newspaper and journal articles, streaming videos, DVDs, CDs, images, and more, all in a single search.

 

 


 



 

by Course by Instructor by Title
 
 

 
Library & Learning Resources, City College of San Francisco
50 Phelan Avenue, San Francisco, CA 94112 (415) 452-5541