Skip to main content
Chat with a Librarian
Get live help from a librarian 24/7
To start a chat, type your question or message in box below.
The CCSF Libraries provides free access to newspaper, magazine and journal article databases. Use these databases for specialized and the most up-to-date information, especially academic (scholarly) sources that are not available for free on the Web. See the Articles & Databases page for a full list of databases available.
Academic Search Complete
Access to more than 8,800 full-text journals and 7,700 peer-reviewed journal on a variety of subjects including those within STEM research, social sciences and the humanities. This is a comprehensive multi-disciplinary database.
Search more than 28 multi-disciplinary databases all at once. Includes literary criticism.
At the Public Library
San Francisco Public Library offers access to several excellent databases on art and art history.
- Art Full Text, a database with full text, scholarly articles exclusively about the arts.
- Oxford Art Online is the most updated version of the art history multi-volume standard reference source: The Dictionary of Art. We also have it in book form in the reference section at the Rosenberg Library - look for it on the 4th floor.
You will need a San Francisco Public Library card and your pin number for the card to access these databases. Go to SFPL's list of Art & Music Databases and explore these amazing resources!
Design Magazines in the Library
Come to the Library to read magazines in print, like Juxtapoz!
Library & Learning Resources, City College of San Francisco
50 Phelan Avenue, San Francisco, CA 94112 (415) 452-5541