Skip to main content
Chat with a Librarian
Get live help from a librarian 24/7
To start a chat, type your question or message in box below.
Finding Web Information
Searching for information on the web efficiently requires developing a search strategy. If the information is very specific? If so, a search engine is the best search tool to use with keywords to describe the exact information need you need. Many specialized databases and search tools are also available on the web.See the links to digitized collections in Museums below and to photography databases.
Museums and Photography Centers
MOMA-Museum of Modern Art, New York
Search MOMA's online collection to find work by photographers.
Metropolitan Museum of Art-Photography topics
A selection of essays on photography from the Met's timeline.
Select the tab for "photographs" and launch your search.
Center for Creative Photography
Fine art photographs, archives and manuscripts, rare books and reference materials.
Archives of American Art
Alphabetical listing of Photographers with links to oral interviews, papers, correspondence, images, recordings and more. Click on the "Topics" tab and select "Photographers."
Art Institute of Chicago, Photography Collections
the Art Institute's photography collection contains works of many of the medium's celebrated practitioners, including collection the Alfred Stieglitz Collection, the Julien Levy Collection, with more than 200 photographs by Edward Weston, and the work of Paul Strand, Eugéne Atget, and André Kertész.
Online Image Databases
George Eastman House: Collections Online
George Eastman House photographs database, active from 1998 to 2006, when it was decommissioned. It is still available for research. Thumbnail images of photographs, daguerreotypes, lantern slides arranged by photographer and collection from the vast holdings of the George Eastman House
New York Public Library. Digital Gallery Picks
"The Digital Gallery provides free and open access to over 700,000 images digitized from the The New York Public Library's vast collections, including illuminated manuscripts, historical maps, vintage posters, rare prints, photographs and more." (quoted from website)
Library of Congress: Prints and Photographs
Contains catalog records and digital images of still pictures held by the Prints & Photographs Division and other units of the Library of Congress.
The Library of Congress' Flickr Photostream
Thousands of historic photographs arranged in 13 searchable groups or sets covering various topics, such as Jazz, Baseball, World War I, Abraham Lincoln, Women, the 1930's and 40's.
Library & Learning Resources, City College of San Francisco
50 Phelan Avenue, San Francisco, CA 94112 (415) 452-5541