Skip to main content
Library Locations | Ask a Librarian | CCSF Home

Articles

Chat with a Librarian

Get live help from a librarian 24/7

To start a chat, type your question or message in box below.

Finding Articles

CCSF Library provides free access to newspaper, magazine and journal article databases.  Use these databases for specialized and the most up-to-date information, especially academic (scholarly) sources that are not available for free on the Web. See the Articles & Databases page for a full list of databases available.

 

 


 



 

by Course by Instructor by Title
 
 

 

Recommended Databases

EBSCOhost and Gale PowerSearch

Ebscohost and Gale PowerSearch each have sets of databases that have information on a wide range of subjects including Philosophy.  Ebscohost searches 28 different databases and Gale searches 19.   Both Ebsco and Gale also have their own "Philosophy and Religion Collections" which may be searched directly.

Religion & Philosophy Collection (EBSCO)

Religion & Philosophy Collection (Gale)

Literary Reference Center Plus (Ebsco)
Up-to-date biographical information, overviews, full-text literary criticism and reviews.  Valuable for biographical information on authors of works relating to philosophy, and for critical information on both an individual work and an author’s body of work.

Opposing Viewpoints In Context (Gale)
Features viewpoint articles, topic overviews, full-text magazine, academic journal, and newspaper articles, primary source documents, statistics, images and podcasts, and links to Websites.  Considerable information on philosophy topics.

Remote Access to Databases & E-books

An active RAM ID (student ID number) and RAM ID password is required for off-campus access to CCSF Library subscription resources and databases, including online articles, streaming video, and e-books. When accessing these resources from off-campus, users will be prompted to log in with RAM ID, then will be able to view resources as if they are on-campus.

Library & Learning Resources, City College of San Francisco
50 Phelan Avenue, San Francisco, CA 94112 (415) 452-5541