Skip to main content
Library Locations | Ask a Librarian | CCSF Home

Articles

test test

Chat with a Librarian

Get live help from a librarian 24/7

To start a chat, type your question or message in box below.

Finding Articles

The CCSF Libraries provides free access to newspaper, magazine and journal article databases.  Use these databases for specialized and the most up-to-date information, especially academic (scholarly) sources that are not available for free on the Web. See the Articles & Databases page for a full list of databases available.

 

Literary Criticism

Sample Keyword searches:

"edgar allan poe" "cask of amontillado"
OR just "cask of amontillado" since the title is unique

"jane eyre" --use quotation marks around phrases (2 or more words)

"because I could not stop for death"

Add additional terms to focus your search:

amontillado irony
amontillado motive identity
amontillado revenge, etc.

Use SUBJECT searching for your author/writer/playwright/poet:  Ebscohost example:

snyder gary SU SUBJECT TERMS
criticism       SU SUBJECT TERMS

Using Full Text or TX ALL TEXT.

Sometimes you may get 0 results.  In that case try expanding your search to TX ALL TEXT (Ebsco), ENTIRE DOCUMENT (Gale).  Other databases will have other different names for this type of search.  Example for Ebsco:

snyder gary      SU SUBJECT TERMS
"turtle island"    TX ALL TEXT

Sample article about David Mamet:

Ethics and Capitalism in the Screenplays of David Mamet.
Boon, Kevin Alexander, ()AUTHOR. Literature Film Quarterly, 2011, Vol. 39 Issue 3, p174-189, 16p, 17 Black and White Photographs. (Article)

Abstract: The article evaluates various screenplays of David Mamet. In most of his screenplays Mamet contends that capitalism or man's amoral accumulation of wealth eschews human compassion as shown by the characters in Hoffa in "Heist," Blake in "Glengarry Glen Ross" or Terry in the "Redbelt" which is in contrast to Leo Tolstoy's belief that human beings should be treated with love and respect.

Remote Access to Databases & E-books

An active RAM ID (student ID number) and RAM ID password is required for off-campus access to CCSF Library subscription resources and databases, including online articles, streaming video, and e-books. When accessing these resources from off-campus, users will be prompted to log in with RAM ID, then will be able to view resources as if they are on-campus.

Library & Learning Resources, City College of San Francisco
50 Phelan Avenue, San Francisco, CA 94112 (415) 452-5541