Skip to main content
Chat with a Librarian
Get live help from a librarian 24/7
To start a chat, type your question or message in box below.
Reference books are great for short overviews and background information. There are also reference resources in our database section.
The Rosenberg library has a number of indexes to literary criticism. See also the Articles tab for information about some online databases that are also good for finding literary criticism. These sources are all Reference and cannot be taken out of the library. There are cumulative indexes available.
Contemporary Literary Criticism
Call Number: REFERENCE PN771 .C59
Publication Date: 2014-05-02
"Contemporary Literary Criticism assembles critical responses to the writings of the world's most renowned novelists, poets, playwrights, short story writers, scriptwriters, and other creative writers and provides supplementary biographical context and bibliographic material to guide the reader to a greater understanding of the genres and creators. Each entry includes a set of previously published reviews, essays and other critical responses from sources that include scholarly books and journals, literary magazines, interviews, websites, and other sources, carefully selected to create a representative history and cross-section of critical responses."--Source: Gale Cengage Co.
Dictionary of Literary Biography
Call Number: REFERENCE PS21 .D5
This is a multivolume set that provides detailed biographical information and commentary on various authors.
Call Number: REFERENCE PN1010 .P499
"Each volume of this reference provides substantial critical essays and biographical information on four to eight major poets from all eras.
Entries provide an introductory biographical sketch, an author portrait, a primary bibliography, annotated full text and excerpted criticism of the poets' works and sources for additional reading. When available, comments from the poets themselves are included. Approximately 90-95% of critical essays are full text.Each volume includes cumulative author name and nationality indexes as well as a volume-specific title index. A cumulative title index to the entire series is published separately."--Source: Gale Cengage Co.
Call Number: REFERENCE PR2965 .S44
Publication Date: 2014-03-07
This is a multivolume set that indexes criticism relating to Shakespeare. Cumulative index is available. Some of the information may be available online from various databases--see the Articles tab for more information.
Short Story Criticism
Call Number: REFERENCE PN3373 .S386
"Short Story Criticism assembles critical responses to the writings of the world's most renowned short fiction writers and provides supplementary biographical context and bibliographic material to guide the reader to a greater understanding of the genre and its creators." Source: Gale Cengage Co.
World Literature Criticism
Call Number: REFERENCE PN523 .W67
Provides literary criticism for major world authors.
Remote Access to Databases & E-books
An active RAM ID (student ID number) and RAM ID password is required for off-campus access to CCSF Library subscription resources and databases, including online articles, streaming video, and e-books. When accessing these resources from off-campus, users will be prompted to log in with RAM ID, then will be able to view resources as if they are on-campus.
Library & Learning Resources, City College of San Francisco
50 Phelan Avenue, San Francisco, CA 94112 (415) 452-5541