Skip to main content
Chat with a Librarian
Get live help from a librarian 24/7
To start a chat, type your question or message in box below.
Recent nursing articles in EBSCO databases
Remote Access to Databases & E-books
An active RAM ID (student ID number) and RAM ID password is required for off-campus access to CCSF Library subscription resources and databases, including online articles, streaming video, and e-books. When accessing these resources from off-campus, users will be prompted to log in with RAM ID, then will be able to view resources as if they are on-campus.
Use OneSearch to search for books, eBooks, magazine, newspaper and journal articles, streaming videos, DVDs, CDs, images, and more, all in a single search.
Health Science Article Databases
CINAHL Plus with Full Text (EBSCO)
Good source of full text for nursing & allied health journals, providing full text for more than 750 journals indexed in the Cumulative Index to Nursing and Allied Health Literature
Includes full-text access to New England Journal of Medicine, with a three-month delay.
Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition
Providing nearly 550 scholarly full text journals focusing on many medical disciplines. Includes the Lexi-PAL Drug Guide, which covers 1,300 generic drug patient education sheets with more than 4,700 brand names.
Nursing and Allied Health
"All aspects of the Nursing profession -- from direct patient care to health care administration -- are covered in this collection. Including nearly 400 titles, this collection's current and authoritative content will be of use to both professionals already working in the field as well as students pursuing a nursing-focused curriculum."
Free databases on the Web
National Library of Medicine - National Institutes of Health launching point for health sciences information, from peer-reviewed literature to clinical trials. Be sure to look at the quick start guide, information on finding the full text of articles, and the tutorials. Also check out the citation matchers, useful if you have incomplete information about an article.
National Guideline Clearinghouse
U.S. Department of Health & Human Services database of evidence-based clinical practice guidelines.
National Library of Medicine online database of toxicology information
Merck Manual of Diagnosis and Therapy - Online
Online version, with features not available in the print version, and "continuously updated to ensure that the information is as up-to-date as possible."
Library & Learning Resources, City College of San Francisco
50 Phelan Avenue, San Francisco, CA 94112 (415) 452-5541