Skip to main content
Library Locations | Ask a Librarian | CCSF Home

Culinary Arts Resources: Food History & Culture

Medieval Food

Baking

Image Credit: www.historyforkids.org

NPR Food History Feed

Loading ...

Food History and Culture

Feeding America 
The Michigan State University Library together with the MSU Museum have created an online collection of some of the most influential and important American cookbooks from the late 18th to early 20th century. Each title is recreated in full in PDF format, making it searchable by keyword.

Key Ingredients: America by Food
Sponsored by the Smithsonian Institute, this site exhibits the influences of region and ethnic cuisines on American dishes.

Not By Bread Alone: America’s Culinary Heritage
Hosted by Cornell University, this site examines American cuisine from the period when it became distinct from European cookery.

The Edible Monument 
“Ornate edible architecture and sculptures were often created for celebrations in the cities and courts of early modern Europe.” This online exhibit, provided by the Getty research Institute, shows festivals, banquets, cookbooks, tablesettings, street fairs, and decorative desserts from the past.

The Food Museum
Find illustrated pages related to most things edible. It is "the one stop source for food exhibits, news/issues, resources, food history, answers to your food questions, book reviews and just plain fun."

Historical Recipes of Difference Cultures
Hosted by the Computer Science Department of Carnegie Mellon University, this recipe archive is subdivided in to the following three collections: Antique Roman Dishes; Medieval and Anglo-Saxon Recipes; and Medieval European Recipes.

History of Vegetarianism
The International Vegetarian Union provides a timeline of vegetairan societies as wellas providing refference to early vegetarians and the history of vegetarianism throughout the world.

Medieval/Renaissance Food Homepage
An online index linking to primary sources, reference, bibliographies, articles, recipes, and more.

Shakespeare and Food
This informal survey of Shakespeare's use of food in his writings reveals much about Renaissance literary convention, about the Elizabethan table, and about Shakespeare himself.

Still Cooking by the Fireside: African Americans in Foodservice
2000. Smithsonian Institution Women’s Committee. 10 October 2003.
This online exhibit and bibliography explores African Americans as food vendors, waiters and cooks in various times of American history.

The Food Timeline
This timeline begins before the onset of agriculture in 10,000 BC. It tells who invented such famous food such as hot dogs and french fried, ice cream and more. Find out what the Vikings ate, recipes from pubs in 17th century England, dried apples from Paul Revere's kitchen and more. Also check out the Culinary History Timeline dating from the 5th millenium BC in Egypt to futuristic trends. Also included are links to historical menu collections.

Subject Guide

Andrea Niosi's picture
Andrea Niosi
Contact:
Statler Library
Statler Wing, Rm. 10
Ocean Campus
415-239-3460
Library & Learning Resources, City College of San Francisco
50 Phelan Avenue, San Francisco, CA 94112 (415) 452-5541