Skip to main content
Chat with a Librarian
Get live help from a librarian 24/7
To start a chat, type your question or message in box below.
Finding Web Information
Searching for information on the web efficiently requires developing a search strategy. Is the information sought very specific? If so, a search engine is the best search tool to use with keywords to describe the exact information need. Unsure or looking for more general information on a topic? Start with a subject directory and search broad topics. Many specialized databases and search tools are also available on the web.
Recommended Web Sources
American Sociological Association
Website for the national association of sociologists. Includes statistics, current research and information on the job market within this discipline.
The United States Census Bureau provides population, housing and economic statistical data.
ChildStats: Interagency Forum on Child and Family Statistics
Data related to children and families collected from 22 federal government agencies.
Research in sex, gender and reproduction produced by the Kinsey Institute at Indiana University.
National Criminal Justice Reference Service
US Department of Justice site that provides information on corrections, crime prevention, statistics, and substance abuse.
Online Dictionary of the Social Sciences
Online dictionary produced by Athabasca University includes entries within sociology, criminology, political science, and women's studies.
Pew Research center
Nonpartisan organization that provides information on issues in American life and around the world.
Social Psychology Network
Supported by the National Science Foundation, this site provides access to thousands of links and websites on the subject of social psychology.
Online sociology resources compiled by Julian Dierkes, sociologist formally at Princeton University.
"The Urban Institute gathers data, conducts research, evaluates programs, offers technical assistance overseas, and educates Americans on social and economic issues - to foster sound public policy and effective government."
Sociology News from New York Times
Library & Learning Resources, City College of San Francisco
50 Phelan Avenue, San Francisco, CA 94112 (415) 452-5541