Skip to main content
From the Online News Association
Associations and Other Professional Organizations
On this page, finds links for professional organizations for journalism and the media. Included among them are links to websites for four-year and graduate programs that provide useful information and resources.
American Copy Editors Society
"[A] non-profit ... education and membership organization working toward the advancement of copy editors. Our aim is to provide solutions to editing problems, training and a place to discuss common issues. ACES is an international members’ alliance of editors working at newspapers, magazines, websites, traditional media outlets, Fortune 500, as well as freelance editors, students and their professors."
Do you have an organization to suggest, or a professional area you don't see represented?
Post a comment below!
Photo by Cory Doctorow
American Society of News Editors
"[ASNE] focuses on leadership development and journalism-related issues. Founded in 1922 as a nonprofit professional organization, ASNE promotes fair, principled journalism, defends and protects First Amendment rights, and fights for freedom of information and open government. Leadership, innovation, diversity and inclusion in coverage and the journalism work force, youth journalism and the sharing of ideas are also key ASNE initiatives."
Asian American Journalists Association
AAJA offers a variety of educational, skills training and professional development programs for its student and professional members, as well as guidance on coverage of AAPI issues for the journalism industry and resources on working with the media for AAPI communities.
Associated Press Sports Editors
Strives "to improve professional standards of member organizations, to discuss and attempt to resolve issues faced by the same and to recognize professional excellence among the membership."
Association for Women in Sports Media
"AWSM is a volunteer-managed ... nonprofit ... support network and advocacy group for women who work in sports writing, editing, broadcast and production, and public and media relations. Our membership of more than 600 men and women includes professionals in the industry and students aspiring to sports media careers."
National Association of Black Journalists
"[A]n organization of journalists, students and media-related professionals that provides quality programs and services to and advocates on behalf of black journalists worldwide."
National Association of Broadcasters
"As the premier trade association for broadcasters, NAB advances the interests of our members in federal government, industry and public affairs; improves the quality and profitability of broadcasting; encourages content and technology innovation; and spotlights the important and unique ways stations serve their communities."
National Association of Hispanic Journalists
NAHL objectives are to organize and support Hispanic journalists, promote fair treatment of Hispanics in the media and foster a greater understanding of Hispanic media professionals’ special cultural identity, interests and concerns.
National Lesbian & Gay Journalists Association
"[A]n organization of journalists, media professionals, educators and students working from within the news industry to foster fair and accurate coverage of LGBT issues."
National Press Photographers Association
Organization representing the "news photographer, videographer and multimedia journalist in the Internet age" whose "ongoing education initiatives seek to equip ... members and prepare the emerging generation of visual journalists in the face of an ever-changing media landscape."
Native American Journalists Association
"The Native American Journalists Association serves and empowers Native journalists through programs and actions designed to enrich journalism and promote Native cultures."
Online News Association
"[A] nonprofit membership organization for digital journalists, connecting journalism, technology and innovation."
Radio Television Digital News Association
RTDNA is "[t]he world's largest professional organization exclusively serving the electronic news profession, consisting of more than 3,000 news directors, news associates, educators and students." Includes a resource page of scholarships and programs for college journalism students.
Society of Professional Journalists
"... SPJ promotes the free flow of information vital to a well-informed citizenry through the daily work of its nearly 10,000 members; works to inspire and educate current and future journalists through professional development; and protects First Amendment guarantees of freedom of speech and press through its advocacy efforts."
Other Media Organizations
"[A] nonpartisan foundation that champions the First Amendment as a cornerstone of democracy, and is the principal funder of the Newseum and Newseum Institute. "
Investigative Reporters and Editors
"... a grassroots nonprofit organization dedicated to improving the quality of investigative reporting. ... IRE provides members access to thousands of reporting tip sheets and other materials through its resource center and hosts conferences and specialized training throughout the country.
Maynard Institute for Journalism Education
"[P]romote[s] diversity in the news media through improved coverage, hiring, business practices & training programs that equip journalists with leadership, multimedia skills and subject expertise for news organizations across platforms."
National Press Club
"[A] private club for journalists and communications professionals [whose] mission is to be The World’s Leading Professional Organization for Journalists. It is a social and business organization dedicated to supporting the ongoing improvement of the profession of journalism."
Pew Research Journalism Project
The Pew Research Journalism Project "seeks to assess the state of news and information in a changing society.
The project employs a variety of empirical research methods to analyze whether people are getting the information they need for a functioning society. It publishes research on who is reporting the news and what new players are emerging; what is being reported on and what gaps in coverage exist; how news is consumed and how the economic models for news are changing. In addition to reports on these topics, each year the project produces the State of the News Media report, which examines key questions facing the industry."
"The Poynter Institute is a school dedicated to teaching and inspiring journalists and media leaders. It promotes excellence and integrity in the practice of craft and in the practical leadership of successful businesses. It stands for a journalism that informs citizens and enlightens public discourse. It carries forward Nelson Poynter’s belief in the value of independent journalism in the public interest."
From the Assoc of Health Care Journalists
Library & Learning Resources, City College of San Francisco
50 Phelan Avenue, San Francisco, CA 94112 (415) 452-5541